top of page

Creating your own destiny


Do you believe in Destiny?

Did you ever hear/say things like this? “I am just not so lucky in love.”

"I want to have somebody but no one comes into my life."

“I don't like my job but I stick to it because it pays the bills.”

"I have been looking for my dream job, but luck is not on my side."

Many people who believe in destiny may end up leaving their lives to destiny, fate or luck without taking full responsibilities and control over their lives. They are not doing their best and therefore, not realising their full potential.

These people tend to think people who are successful in their career and love life are simply luckier than them or they may be provided with things they don’t have or they are given more opportunities than them but they fail to realize they too, can create the life they want by making the decision to create "what it takes".

If you are one of these people, you should immediately come up with your "life mission statement" (e.g. I will meet my soulmate / I will get my dream job / I will make my dreams come true), then think of "what it takes" to get there from where we want to be and then start creating and doing "what it takes" without waiting for things to happen. That's how you can design and create your own destiny.

Personally I have heard many single friends who said “I just have no luck with love” or "I want to have somebody but I'll leave it up to fate." and when I asked them further if they have been trying to get to know more people like joining some interest groups or getting referals from friends or making online friends, they said "No."

I was once inspired by a book that says something like "You can't meet someone on the way to your TV and refrigerator. You need to get yourself outside the house." (The author was right, I took more effort in getting to know more people and make more new friends and that is how I met my husband.) I believe there is somebody for everybody, but these single souls may need to get yourself out there to meet more people to increase your chances of meeting your Mr/Ms Right.

As an HR Manager, I have also spoken to quite a few candidates who admit they have difficulties getting a job or even an interview. What did they do? They keep sending out the exact same resume and cover letter, while hoping to get a different result.

You must be able to continuously come up with improvement ideas on what quality you need to have and what you need to do to make a difference in your lives if you want to live the life you want. You can’t keep doing the same thing and expect to get a different result. Being more creative and innovative helps. There was a saying; "The harder you try, the luckier you get." When you strongly believe you can make a difference in your life and start to take the necessary action, YOU WILL.

If you are single and hope to meet that someone, then you need to put yourself out there to meet more people and work on improving your appearance, characters, communication and interpersonal skills and let that someone has the opportunities to meet you and be able to spot you out of all the people in this world.

If you are unemployed or stuck in the wrong job and hoping to find a better career opportunity, but you don’t seem to get it from sending out the same resume, then you will need to do something about it. For example, by renovating your resume with a new format, new photo, revise some wordings and treat your resume as your "personal brand presentation"to make your resume stands out from all other candidates. If you don't have anything much to write about, you may also need to take up some personal and professional development courses to build up your personal portfolio.

"Successful people have successful habits that lead to successful outcome." Many unsuccessful people think successful people have it all because they are luckier and smarter people, not necessarily, they are just determined, committed and persistent people who are flexible and creative with their approach and willing to create and do what it takes.

If you are not happy with where you are now, you need to do something different about it; may it be finding a different approach, working around the undesirable and uncontrollable factors as if everything depends on how YOU handle them. You will first need to find out what you are lack of without making any excuses, admit it and create what you need to change or improve on. Being committed to your life mission, but flexible with your approach, and one day you will get there where you always want to be.

Good Luck! (but don't wait for your luck)


bottom of page